Citrix Ready workspace hub

Citrix Ready workspace hub enables Citrix Casting, which makes it possible to securely transfer your mobile session to a hub.

Prerequisites:

  • Citrix Workspace app 1810.1 for iOS or later.
  • Bluetooth enabled on the device for hub discovery.
  • Mobile device and workspace hub using the same Wi-Fi network.

Enable Citrix Casting

To turn on Citrix Casting, go to Settings and tap Citrix Casting. Then set a default app or desktop that launches when you transfer your session to the hub. To do this, on the Favorites tab, swipe to the right on any app or desktop and tap Set default. The app or desktop appears with a light blue background. This color denotes it as the default app or desktop for the Citrix Ready workspace hub.

Now you can roam or cast your session to the hub.

Session roaming

Roaming allows you to move the session from your original device to the workspace hub. When a session roams, the workspace hub has a full control of the device keyboard and the mouse.

In the Favorites view on an iPhone, you can roam a specific app or desktop or a default app or desktop.

Note:

Roaming to a specific app is not available on iPad devices or when using a cloud store. You can only roam a default app.

To roam a specific app or desktop to a hub:

  1. Tap and hold the app or desktop in the Favorites view, or tap the ellipsis next to the app or desktop. A menu and camera view appears.
  2. Scan the QR code on the workspace hub you want to connect to using the camera view.

To roam the default app or desktop to a hub:

  1. Tap the Cast icon on the bottom right of the menu.
  2. Tap Select an App or Desktop to set or change your default app or desktop.
  3. Scan the QR code on the workspace hub to launch your session.

Tap Roam to Last Hub to reconnect to the last hub you connected to. This option is available only if you have connected to a workspace hub previously and set the default app or desktop.

After roaming begins, a status window appears on your device at the bottom of the Favorites list. This status window shows the name of the hub and the name of the app or desktop. A blue solid screen icon indicates that the hub is connected.

Tap the X icon on the right to disconnect the roaming session. You can swipe down on the screen with two fingers to disconnect as well.

Session casting

Casting allows you to transfer the display in your session onto a larger display that is connected to a workspace hub. When a session casts, you can use the keyboard and the mouse on the hub and on the device to control the session.

To cast to a hub:

  1. Inside a session, tap the Cast icon on the toolbar. A menu and camera view appears.
  2. Scan the QR code on the workspace hub you want to connect to using the camera view.

Tap Cast to Last Hub to reconnect to the last hub you connected to. This option is available only if you have connected to a workspace hub previously.

After casting begins, use the touchscreen as a trackpad to interact with the screen. To disconnect the casting session, tap the hide keyboard icon or swipe down on the screen with two fingers.

Secure connection

Citrix Ready workspace hub supports secure connections between your iOS device and the hub. To ensure that your iOS device is securely authenticated, you need to install the client certificate.

  1. For iOS devices running without centralized management, a workspace hub administrator must send you the certificate.
    • If you receive the certificate through AirDrop, you need to tap Accept to add it. A notification message lets you know if the certificate has been added. Profile added
    • If you receive the certificate through email, you need to download the file.
  2. On your device, go to Settings > General > Profiles, select the profile, and tap Install. Follow the installation instructions. Install the certificate
  3. If your profile contains a Root Certificate Authority, the device prompts you to enable the settings to trust your certificate. Notification message
    • Go to Settings > General > About > Certificate Trust Settings to enable the full trust for the root certificate.
    • Tap Continue to confirm.

An alert message notifies you if your security connection is disabled or the iOS certificate is invalid. Choose one of the following options:

  • Connect: Connect to the hub using an untrusted certificate.
  • Always connect: Connect to the hub and add it to the trusted list in Citrix Workspace app > Settings > Citrix Casting > Trusted hubs. The alert message doesn’t appear again.
  • Cancel: Cancels the connection.

To reset the notification to the original setting for any hub, tap Trusted Hubs and delete the hub from the list by swiping it to the left.

Citrix Ready workspace hub

Was this article helpful?